Monday, June 23, 2008

Ubod New Authors Series


The National Commission for the Culture and the Arts (NCCA) through the National Committee on Literary Arts (NCLA) will formally launch the “Ubod New Authors Series,” which features 40 of Philippine literati’s newest gems, at the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) Main Lobby, Roxas Blvd., Pasay City, on Dec. 6 at 6 p.m.

The series consists of 50-page chapbooks (5½” x 8½”) of selected poems, fiction, creative nonfiction and drama in English, Filipino and other Philippine languages written by young and promising Filipino writers. Ubod is the Tagalog and Cebuano word for “heart extracted out of palm or bamboo.”

Presidential assistant on culture and NCCA executive director Cecile Guidote Alvarez, CCP vice president and artistic director Fernando C. Josef and NCLA head Joselito Zulueta will present the first copies of “Ubod” to the authors.

An overview of the series will be presented by Ricky de Ungria, UP Mindanao chancellor and former head of the NCLA from 1998 to 2001, when “Ubod” was first hatched.

There will also be remarks from Gemino Abad, general editor of “Ubod,” and Hermino Beltran, head of the CCP Office on Literature and former head of the NCLA from 2001 to 2004, during which “Ubod” started to be implemented.

The writers of the series are Sid Hildawa, Naya Valdellon, Gabriela Lee, Raul Moldez, Rosendo Makabali and Ralph Semino Galan for poetry in English; Joseph Salazar, Edgar Calabia Samar, Richard Gappi, Joselito de los Reyes, Joselyn Floresca, Enrico Torralba, Marieta Culibao, and Jema Pamintuan for poetry in Filipino; Santiago Villafania for poetry in Pangasinan; and Estellito Baylon Jacob for poetry in Bicolano.

The series also features Anna Felicia Sanchez, Peter Mayshle, Ian Casocot, Mildred Malaki and Arifa Jamil for fiction in English; Alwyn Aguirre, Vlademeir Gonzales, Alvin Yapan, Maricris Calilung and Ernesto Carandang Jr. for fiction in Filipino; Julio Belmes for fiction in Iluko; Januar Enero Yap for fiction in Cebuano; Genvieve Asenjo for fiction in Kinaray-a; and John Barrios for fiction in Aklanon.

Also included on the series are the works of Georgina Verdolaga and Maryanne Moll for creative nonfiction in English; Debbie Ann Tan, Christopher Gozum, and Liza Magtoto for drama in English; and Bay-viz Canleon, Edward Perez, Dennis Marasigan and Chris Martinez for drama in Filipino.

Note: This event happened almost three years ago, but since I am waxing nostalgic while creating this online archive of my life as a writer, I might as well include this press release as well as two pictures courtesy of Ian Casocot.

Ralph Semino Galan with Ian Casocot at the CCP Main Lobby.


Xiaobucks said...

Sir, I am such a fan... Grabe talaga...

What a coincidence, I just took out books from the MDB library from the UBOD NEW WRITERS SERIES, two of them, one from Chris Martinez and one from Dennis Marasigan, both plays. You know sir, Chris Martinez is one of my favorites...all time favorites. He is so reticent, particularly in his one-acts.

God bless and more power sir. :D

Maria Katrina said...

How can i order "A day in a poet's life and other poems" by Moldez, Raul G.? I lost a book and i need to replace it. I searched here in Baguio but i there's nothing available. I hope you can help me. Thanks.